Topics

The chairs of Visual Computing and Computer Graphics are concerned with all kinds of computer-based methods to deal with visual information. These methods include means to generate realistic images, to process image data, and to analyze data via visual representations.

Chair of Visual Computing

Digital displays are omnipresent in our everyday lives. We are used to operate high-resolution mobile phones, navigation systems, and television sets on a regular basis. Yet, the development of modern display methods and interaction techniques is not at all trivial. Our research focuses particularly on large displays. We investigate approaches that improve visual communication in terms of technical issues as well as questions of service quality. Our current research topics are:

  • Virtual reality and real-time computer graphics
  • High-resolution displays and display walls
  • Telepresence
  • 3D tracking and interaction
  • Depth cameras and depth images
  • Visual saliency and gaze prediction
  • Augmented reality in aerospace applications

Chair of Computer Graphics

In all areas of our daily lives we are confronted with data and the information contained therein. Our research investigates new methods allowing humans to deal with large and complex data more easily. For us, visualization, that is the communication of relevant information via visual representations, plays a key role. Analytical approaches and intuitive interaction with the machine are just as important in our research. Our current topics include:

  • Visual analytics
  • Visualization of spatio-temporal data
  • Graph visualization
  • Scalable visual interfaces
  • Visualization in smart environments
  • Visualization design and applications
  • Terrain rendering

Neuigkeiten

  • Das Visual Computing Team erhielt den Best-Paper-Award des ACM Symposium on Spatial User Interaction.
    Datum: 11. November 2020
  • Die Kontaktaufnahme zu unseren Mitarbeitern erfolgt derzeit bevorzugt per Email.
    Datum: 05. November 2020
  • Wir heißen Tatiana Landesberger von Antburg willkommen als neue Professorin für "Visual Analytics"
    Datum: 01. Oktober 2020

Themen

Die Lehrstühle Visual Computing und Visual Analytics beschäftigen sich mit den verschiedensten computerbasierten Methoden zum Umgang mit visuellen Informationen. Dazu gehören die Erzeugung immersiver Graphik, die Verarbeitung von Bilddaten, sowie die Analyse von Daten mittels visueller Repräsentationen.

Lehrstuhl Visual Computing

Digitale Displays sind für uns alltäglich geworden. Wir sind es gewohnt, mit hochauflösenden mobilen Telefonen, Navigationsgeräten, und Fernsehern zu interagieren. Dabei ist die Entwicklung moderner Darstellungs- und Interaktionstechniken keineswegs trivial. Wir erforschen Methoden, die das Arbeiten vor allem mit großen Displays unterstützen und die visuelle Kommunikation sowohl in technischer als auch qualitativer Hinsicht maßgeblich verbessern. Unsere aktuellen Themen sind:

  • Virtuelle Realität und Echtzeit Computergraphik
  • Große hochaufgelöste Displays and Displaywände
  • Telepräsenz
  • 3D Tracking und Interaktion
  • Tiefenkameras und Tiefenbilder
  • Visuelle Salienz und Blickvorhersagen
  • Augmentierte Realität in Luftfahrtanwendungen

Lehrstuhl Visual Analytics

In allen Bereichen des Lebens sind wir mit Daten und in ihnen enthaltenen Informationen konfrontiert. Wir erforschen neue Methoden, die den Umgang mit großen und komplexen Datenmengen für den Menschen einfacher machen. Dabei spielt die Visualisierung, das heißt die Kommunikation relevanter Informationen mittels visueller Repräsentationen eine entscheidende Rolle. Analytische Verfahren und intuitive Interaktion mit dem Rechner sind ebenso wichtige Punkte unserer Forschung. Unsere aktuellen Themen sind:

  • Visual Analytics
  • Informationsvisualisierung
  • Visuelle Analyse von Netzwerken
  • Spatio-temporale Daten
  • Anwendung dieser Methoden in Medizin, Biologie und Finanzen