Master Visual Computing

Research questions related to Visual Computing are among the most exciting topics in computer science. The chairs Visual Computing, Computer Graphics, and Multimedia Communication offer comprehensive and profound insight into the visual world of computers.

New regulations in force from winter term 2014/2015

Starting with the winter term 2014/2015 there will be new and revised program regulations for the master's program Visual Computing. A new module system and new regulations for exams will bring many improvements for the students and the teachers.

Program

Visual Computing covers the areas of image acquisition, image analysis, and image synthesis. Visual information plays an important role in many fields of application. Complex geometric or abstract models are visualized, for example, in natural sciences, engineering, bio-informatics, or medicine. Moreover, images are used as effective interfaces between the human and the machine. Application scenarios include information systems, simulation systems, interactive data analysis, user interface design, virtual reality, digital product cycles, and media.

The goal of the program is to build upon basic knowledge in math, computer science, and natural sciences, and to convey knowledge in advanced topics of computer science, especially in computer graphics and image processing. The students learn to identify and comprehend scientific questions in visual computing, as well as to systematically develop solutions to these questions. This way they actively contribute to the advancement of visual computing as a field.

Content

The modules of the master program Visual Computing are structured into the following key topics:

  • Visual computing (24 CP)
  • Fundamentals of computer science (12 CP)
  • Overview of computer science (18 CP)
  • Applications and non-technical studies (12 CP)

There are only a few mandatory modules (introduction to visual computing, research areas in computer science, literature project, and software project). To further accumulate the required credit points, students are free to choose from all other modules in the above topic areas according to their preferences.

The master's thesis is to be written in the 4th semester, which ends with the defense of the thesis.

Degree

Master of Science (M.Sc.)

Duration and Enrollment

The duration of the program is 4 semesters. Students can enroll for the winter term as well as for the summer term.

Requirements

There are a few requirements that you need to fulfill for the program:

  • Graduation as bachelor or equal or better qualification in computer science or a related field (30 CP in computer science and 18 CP in mathematics)
  • English language at level B2 of CEFR or German Abitur
  • German language at level B2 of CEFR

Contact

Dr.-Ing. Bernd Karstens
+49 (381) 498 7483
bernd.karstens [ät] uni-rostock.de
A.-Einstein-Str. 22, R. 369

Further Information

Masterstudiengang Visual Computing

Forschungsfragen rund um Visual Computing gehören zu den spannendsten Themen der Informatik. Die Lehrstühle Visual Computing, Computergraphik und Multimediale Kommunikation bieten den Studierenden einen umfassenden und tiefgehenden Einblick in die visuelle Welt der Computer.

Neue Studienordnung gültig ab Wintersemester 2014/2015

Ab dem Wintersemester 2014/2015 gilt für den Masterstudiengang Visual Computing eine neue überarbeitete Studienordnung. Ein neues Modulsystem und neue Regelungen der Prüfungen bringen viele Verbesserungen für die Studierenden und die Lehrenden.

Studium

Visual Computing umfasst die informationstechnischen Teilgebiete der Bildakquisition, -analyse und -synthese. Bilder werden zunehmend in vielen verschiedenen Bereichen innerhalb und außerhalb der Informatik eingesetzt. Hiermit werden auf der einen Seite komplexe geometrische und abstrakte Sachverhalte veranschaulicht, z. B. in Naturwissenschaft und Technik, Bioinformatik und Medizin. Andererseits werden diese Bilder als effektive visuelle Schnittstellen für die unterschiedlichsten Systeme eingesetzt: Informations- und Simulationssysteme, bei der interaktiven Datenanalyse und ganz allgemein im Benutzungsschnittstellenentwurf, der Virtual Realiy, in digitalen Produktzyklen sowie der Medienindustrie.

Ziel des Masterstudiengangs Visual Computing ist es, aufbauend auf mathematisch–naturwissenschaftlichen Grundlagen vertiefte Kenntnisse der Informatik und insbesondere der Computergraphik und Bildverarbeitung zu vermitteln. Die Studierenden sollen befähigt werden, fachspezifische Probleme zu erfassen, sowie systematisch und zielgerichtet an deren Lösung zu arbeiten, um so zur wissenschaftlichen Entwicklung auf dem Gebiet des Visual Computing beizutragen.

Inhalte

Das Modulangebot des Masterstudiengangs Visual Computing ist in die folgenden Themenbereiche eingeteilt:

  • Visual Computing (24 LP)
  • Grundlagen der Informatik (12 LP)
  • Überblick Informatik (18 LP)
  • Anwendungen und nichttechnische Fächer (12 LP)

Im Verlauf des Studiums sind nur wenige Module obligatorisch (Einführung in Visual Computing, Forschungsthemen der Informatik, Literaturprojekt, und Softwaretechnikprojekt). Um die notwendigen Leistungspunkte zu erwerben, können die Studierenden frei aus den Modulangeboten der oben genannten Themenbereiche wählen.

Im vierten Semester wird die Masterarbeit verfasst und im Rahmen eines Kolloquiums verteidigt.

Abschluss

Master of Science (M.Sc.)

Regelstudienzeit und Studienbeginn

Die Regelstudienzeit beträgt 4 Semester. Das Studium kann sowohl im Winter- als auch im Sommersemester begonnen werden.

Voraussetzungen

Für den Studiengang sind ein paar Voraussetzungen zu erfüllen:

  • Erster berufsqualifizierender Hochschulabschluss in Informatik oder in verwandten Bereichen (30 LP Informatik und 18 LP Mathematik)
  • Englischkenntnisse auf Abiturniveau, Niveau B2 des GeRS
  • Deutschkenntnisse Niveau B2 des GeRS

Ansprechpartner

Dr.-Ing. Bernd Karstens
+49 (381) 498 7483
bernd.karstens [ät] uni-rostock.de
A.-Einstein-Str. 22, R. 369

Weiterführende Informationen